Sat. Oct 1st, 2022

Destiny 2: Season of the Haunted arrived with a complete overhaul of the Solar subclass, though not all of that Guardian skill tree has been unlocked. This is by design, as Bungie explained that players will be able to unlock additional shards for Solar 3.0 by completing a certain number of Nightmare Containments, this season’s new public event.

The key to completing this activity will be teamwork, as Bungie added that complete fireteams will earn double progress points for the Community Goal. As an example, a Guardian who completes a Nightmare Containment Run counts as a single completion point, but a three-person squad will count as six points. Bungie explained in its weekly blog post that once the Destiny 2 community reaches 20 million Nightmare Containment completions, the following shards will unlock:

Now Playing: Destiny 2: The Witch Queen – Official Haunted Season Trailer

  • Ember of Empyrean
  • Char’s Ember
  • ember of ashes
  • Ember of Wonder

While these four shards are locked away, Bungie noted that several veteran players have already unlocked the Ember of Ashes and Ember of Wonder as they have already been integrated into the Solar subclass.

Some players were also unable to acquire shards that should have been unlocked for everyone at the start of Season of the Haunted, particularly Ember of Eruption and Ember of Searing. While Bungie works to remedy this situation, anyone who unlocked Sun Fragments early on won’t have to worry about them being removed from their Guardian builds.

In case you missed it, you can check out the Solar 3.0 trailer to see how the overhauled subclass will turn your guardian into a fire god. If you’re looking for guides, we’ve also got features on how to get the Trespasser Exotic Catalyst, the best early vendor upgrades, how to get opulent weapons, and where to find Calus bobbleheads.

GameSpot may earn a commission on retail offers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.